Loading...
Frequently Asked Questions About Home Inspections2016-10-25T21:47:08+00:00

A quality and professional inspection allows you to make a sound decision about your purchase.

Photo of San Luis Obispo Home Inspector, Johnny MurphreeFor most of us, the home buying and selling process only occurs a few times in our lives. You may have some questions about the inspection process and what to expect.

I’ve compiled the following frequently asked questions about home inspections to clarify what to expect when you choose Murphee Building Inspections. If you have additional questions, or if you need a clarification about anything mentioned here, please contact us or call (805) 610-9037. We answer business calls Monday through Friday between 8am and 6pm.

What is a home inspection and why do I need one?2016-01-27T05:29:01+00:00

Buildings are made up of critical structural components and integral systems, including the foundation, plumbing, heating and cooling, electrical, roof, walls, windows and doors, and insulation.

A professional home inspection will give you a complete view of the condition of the systems and components of the property you’re purchasing.

Every home and building, whether it’s new construction or a hundred year old historical building, has a story to tell.

Home inspections are non-invasive visual inspections. They are not technically exhaustive, and no inspector can foresee all future issues you may experience. But investing in a professional and experienced inspection will minimize future unpleasant surprises. It can bring to light areas in need of maintenance and repair. Plus, it’s a great opportunity to learn more about the home and property.

What happens during a home inspection?2016-01-27T05:29:01+00:00

The home inspection is a multiple hour examination of the physical structure and systems of the home, from the roof down to the home’s foundation.

Murphree Building Inspections is a member of the American Society of Home Inspectors (ASHI) as well as the California Real Estate Inspection Association (CREIA). CREIA’s and ASHI’s Standard of Practice outlines precisely what you can expect during an inspection with us.

For your convenience, below is a much shorter outline of what to expect during your inspection with Murphree Building Inspections:

  1. We do a full structural audit of the home’s foundation and supporting elements, looking for indicators of distress that warrant further investigation.
  2. We inspect the condition of the home’s roof, exterior, accessible attic and crawlspaces, basement (if applicable), and the subarea of the home.
  3. If the home has heating and/or cooling systems installed, we check if they are in working order. They are operated and checked for proper air temperature differential.
  4. We inspect the home’s plumbing and electrical systems, and we test all installed appliances.
  5. During the inspection, we’ll review the attic and subarea’s ventilation and verify the installed insulation’s type and thickness.
  6. Doors and windows in the home are also inspected, including the garage doors (if applicable).

If you would like more detail on what happens during a home inspection, please refer to our page on What The Full Inspections Includes.

How long does an inspection take?2016-01-27T05:29:01+00:00

It depends on the size and condition of the home. That said, we find most residential homes take between 2-3 hours.

Do I need to be present during the inspection?2016-10-25T21:47:09+00:00

It’s not technically required.

But we’d like to extend the invitation to you. We take great pride in educating our clients on the condition of the home, where the home’s critical elements are located, and practical tips on home maintenance.

The written report we provide is comprehensive and immensely valuable. But joining us during the inspection will offer you more feedback and knowledge. If it’s an option, we encourage both you and your realtor to be present for the inspection.

Is a home inspection required?2016-01-27T05:29:01+00:00

No. There’s no law requiring that a buyer or seller perform a home inspection.

Your licensed realtor should discuss this topic in more depth with you, but the buyer can request an “inspection contingency” as part of the escrow contract. If the inspection uncovers issues with the home, you are able to negotiate repairs with the seller.

For that and other reasons, we do encourage all buyers to perform an inspection. It’s a worthwhile investment to know the full condition of the home you’re purchasing or selling.

When should I schedule an inspection?2016-01-27T05:29:02+00:00

If you’re the home buyer, the home inspection is typically scheduled immediately after you open escrow.

If you’re the seller, you can have a pre-listing inspection to identify and/or fix issues before it goes on the market. You can elect to share the report with potential buyers, or proactively make any necessary repairs.

If prospects have faith that a home is “move-in ready,” it may encourage them to make an offer on your home over others.

Does a house fail or pass an inspection?2016-01-27T05:29:02+00:00

No. The inspection gives you a complete view of the condition of the systems and components of the property at this point in time.

The home inspection report is written to be objective. It’s not an appraisal, which determines market value of the home. And it’s not a municipal inspection, which confirms the home meets local code requirements. There’s no pass or fail.

Our home inspection report describes the physical condition of the home at the time of the inspection, allowing you to come to your own conclusions if the home is right for you.

I’m purchasing a newly built home. Do I really need an inspection?2016-01-27T05:29:02+00:00

One of the five biggest home inspections mistakes people make is NOT performing an inspection on new construction.

Aside: This type of inspection is sometimes referred to as pre-delivery inspection.

The truth is no home, whether it’s newly built or an older property, comes in perfect condition. Don’t assume that because your home passed the code enforcement that things didn’t get neglected or overlooked during construction.

Murphree Building Inspections is an objective party. We inspect homes and commercial buildings every day. Our trained eye can spot potential issues in new construction early while they’re easier to address and before you’ve signed off on the project.

If you’re building a new home, we recommend you have a pre-delivery inspection performed.

Will you fix any problems you find during the inspection?2016-01-27T05:29:02+00:00

No. The Code of Ethics provided by the American Society of Home Inspectors (ASHI) prohibits members from doing repair work on properties that we’ve inspected.

This eliminates any conflict of interest by the home inspector.

If you need a referral for trusted local service providers, we’re happy to provide you with their contact information.